Media Center

(WASHINGTON, DC)– Congressman Scott DesJarlais (R-TN-04) today introduced a resolution to stand firmly opposed to President Joe Biden’s unconstitutional gun policies.


Rep. Scott DesJarlais said in a statement: 


“The Biden administration has been on a power trip since assuming office in January. They believe the Constitution can be tossed to the side and that the rules do not apply to them. This has been made clear through numerous executive orders and the championing of legislative pandering to progressives. 


This resolution makes it clear policies that limit the freedoms guaranteed by the Second Amendment for law abiding citizens will not stand. The attempt to limit your right to defend yourself is an egregious government overreach.” 


This resolution is supported by the National Rifle Association and Gun Owners of America. 


“Law-abiding Americans are paying close attention to the Biden Administration’s growing contempt for the right to keep and bear arms,” said Jason Ouimet, executive director of NRA’s Institute for Legislative Action. “This resolution represents and expresses the concerns of millions of NRA members across the country. On behalf of our 5 million members, we thank Rep. Scott DesJarlais for putting the Biden Administration on notice that any degradation of the Second Amendment will not be tolerated.” 


"Never has the Second Amendment been under greater attack than when Joe Biden became President. President Biden decided to side step Congress and attack homemade firearms and pistol-braced firearms with his 'phone and pen.' Furthermore, the legislation he has called on Congress to pass would eradicate the Second Amendment as we know it. Gun owners should be grateful to Rep. Scott DesJarlais for leading the charge with his resolution to protect the right to keep and bear arms," said Gun Owners of America Director of Federal Affairs Aidan Johnston. 





The full text of the resolution can be found below. 


Original co-sponsors include: Rep. Ralph Norman (R-SC), Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL), Greg Steube (R-FL), Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX), Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH), Rep. Ted Budd (R-NC), Rep. Diana Harshbarger (R-TN), Rep. Mo Brooks (R-AL), Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA), Rep. Tom McClintock (R-CA), Rep. Fred Keller (R-PA), Rep. John Rose (R-TN), Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-AL) and Rep. Mary Miller (R-IL). 

[[{"fid":"389","view_mode":"full","fields":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false},"link_text":null,"type":"media","field_deltas":{"1":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false}},"attributes":{"height":1440,"width":1284,"class":"media-element file-full","data-delta":"1"}}]][[{"fid":"392","view_mode":"full","fields":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false},"link_text":null,"type":"media","field_deltas":{"2":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false}},"attributes":{"height":1437,"width":1284,"class":"media-element file-full","data-delta":"2"}}]][[{"fid":"393","view_mode":"full","fields":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false},"link_text":null,"type":"media","field_deltas":{"3":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":false}},"attributes":{"height":1428,"width":1284,"class":"media-element file-full","data-delta":"3"}}]]